What’s in a Name Reading Challenge

What’s in a Name?


Annie is hosting a creative reading challenge for 2008. It’s called What’s in a Name? and the six selections for the challenge must contain a specific element in the title:

  • A book with a color in its title
  • A book with an animal in its title
  • A book with a first name in its title
  • A book with a place in its title
  • A book with a weather event in its title
  • A book with a plant in its title

These are my picks:

1. A book with a color in its title.
The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

2. A book with an animal in its title.
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon

3. A book with a first name in its title.
We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver

4. A book with a place in its title.
On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan

5. A book with a weather event in its title.
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

6. A book with a plant in the title
White Oleander by Janet Fitch
A Hatred for Tulips by Richard Lourie
I’m new to challenges.. I wonder if it’s cool to read the same book for 2 different challenges.. can anyone tell me?

7 Responses

  1. what does it have to do with reading if you have to list book names? or do you have to read the books as well? strange challenge. I’d call it “google challange” or “amazon challange”, lol.

  2. I just jumped over to what the Shriver book ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin” is about and ooooo! scary stuff. I’m intrigued and will add to my tbr list. Are these books already on your tbr list? (is that why you ask the Q about same book on 2 diff challenges? I say YES, you can….) I’ve read your #1, 2, (both will prob be quick reads for you?!) and 6 (tough for me, long.)

  3. Hi Aditive, Yes, you have to read the books, LOL. I guess that wasn’t clear. That’s what a reading challenge is-just a fun way to encourage you to read more. I guess you’re new to them too. Hi Care, I have A Thousand Splended Suns on both this one and the TBR list. I wasn’t sure if that was ‘cheating’ or what. Hmmm, maybe I will re-think #6.

  4. I think that reading one book for two challenges when there are a number of books to be read for each one is completely kosher. I love this new challenge and find part of the challenge to be finding the books that fit under the requirements. I like your list. The Red Tent is AWESOME and a quick yet detailed and rich read. I’m interested in “One Chisel Beach” and “We Need To Talk About Kevin”. I have “The Curious Incedent of the Dog in the Nighttime” on iTunes but haven’t finished listening to it and I have “A Thousand Splendid Suns” on my TBR shelf.
    Good luck with the challenge!!
    XOXO-K

  5. I read White Oleander when I was going through a phase of reading books made into movies. and it was tough due to heavy topic of kid bouncing through the foster care system. and, as you can tell, I get impatient with long books! eek. If you want a short read to satisfy the plant theme – How about the House on Mango Street? your kids would like it, too, maybe…

  6. […] love books November 20, 2007 — crystalgable I found this over at Books on the brain. It’s a creative reading challenge for 2008 and is hosted by Annie. It’s called What’s […]

  7. This Challenge looks fabulous! Instead of studying, I have been thinking about which boooks to read. Sigh– why is it so easy to procrastinate.

Leave a Reply

